With a history that spans more than eight decades, Toyota has emerged as a leader in the world of automotive safety. Sophisticated frame and chassis design, high-strength materials, and an array of airbags provide protection in the event of a collision. However, with its advanced suite of driver aids, the automaker aims to help prevent accidents before they occur. Today, most new Toyota models come standard with Toyota Safety Sense 2.0 driver-assistance technologies that serve to enhance driver awareness and help detect and avoid hazards. Here's a quick look at what's included.

Toyota Safety Sense 2.0 Features

  • Pre-Collision System with Pedestrian Detection uses a camera and radar system to monitor the road ahead and warn of possible collisions. If the driver can't react in time, the system can automatically apply the brakes to mitigate the severity of impact or avoid it altogether.

  • Dynamic Radar Cruise Control enhances standard cruise control by automatically controlling the brake and throttle to maintain a preset distance from leading vehicles.

  • Lane Departure Alert uses a windshield camera to detect your position in the lane (when markers are clearly visible) and alert you if it senses unintentional drifting.

  • Automatic High Beams detect headlights and taillights and automatically toggles between low and high beams to provide optimal visibility without affecting other drivers.

  • Lane Tracing Assist combines with Dynamic Radar Cruise Control to detect visible lane markings and keep the vehicle centered in its lane.

  • Road Sign Assist detects speed limit, stop, do not enter, and yield signs that may be hidden from view and displays them on the information display.

Toyota Safety Sense 2.0 Availability

The following new Toyota models include TSS 2.0 as standard equipment:

  • Corolla, Corolla Hatchback, and Corolla Hybrid
  • Camry and Camry Hybrid
  • Avalon and Avalon Hybrid
  • Prius and Prius Prime
  • Sienna
  • Tacoma
  • Tundra
  • C-HR
  • RAV4, RAV4 Hybrid, and RAV4 Prime
  • Highlander and Highlander Hybrid
  • 4Runner
  • Sequoia
  • Land Cruiser

Experience Toyota Safety Sense Technologies at Toyota of Rockwall

For more information about the Toyota Safety Sense 2.0 technologies and available models, contact Toyota of Rockwall at your convenience. If you'd like a demonstration, we invite you to schedule a test drive with us. We'll be happy to give you a tour.

Categories: News, New Inventory, Parts